Short answer: the console and the game do not cover the same ground, and the gap is wider than most buying advice admits. Remapping is largely the console’s job — and Nintendo is the one console holder that says in so many words that its button mapping applies while you are playing a game, with Sony and Microsoft documenting theirs without stating either way. Text is split, and Nintendo is the exception in the other direction: the Switch 2 accessibility guide says its text settings are “not reflected when playing a game.” Motion is mostly the game’s job. And timing and difficulty are entirely the game’s job — not one console or operating system documents a pause that stops a game clock, a slow mode, an adjustable timer, a difficulty level, a damage toggle or an assist.

That last point is the one worth carrying around. If the thing you want changed is time pressure or challenge, no amount of digging in system settings will produce it. Only the game can — and across these seven, difficulty is documented as an in-game system exactly once, in Minecraft’s game modes, while the only pause documented as a setting is Minecraft’s too, on single-player Java.

This guide records documented options and only that. Every line comes from a first-party page — the developer’s, the publisher’s, or the platform holder’s — checked on 2026-08-26. Nothing here is a judgment about who a game suits, and none of it is a recommendation for any person, condition or circumstance. Where nobody published an answer we write undocumented, which is silence rather than a “no.”

Two layers, and why mixing them up costs money

Every claim about a cozy game’s options belongs to one of two layers, and they are not interchangeable.

  • The game layer — what the game documents in its own settings menu. It ships with the game and travels wherever you play it.
  • The platform layer — what the console, PC client or phone OS gives you across every title. It travels with the hardware, not the game.

A system-wide remap is not evidence that a game has remapping. That distinction is what turns a settings question into a spending question: if you buy a second copy on another platform hoping the options improve, you are buying the game layer again, and the platform layer was never part of the purchase in the first place. If you are still choosing hardware, the cozy games by platform guide covers that decision on its own terms.

Five axes run through everything below:

  • Remap — rebinding, reassigning, choosing a control scheme.
  • Text — text size, UI scale, subtitles and captions, color or contrast, language.
  • Motion — camera shake, motion blur, gyro, flashing.
  • Timing — anything that removes or relaxes time pressure.
  • Difficulty — difficulty levels, damage or combat toggles, peaceful and creative modes, assists.

Held against the two layers, the useful mental model is short. Remap is largely the console’s job. Text is split, with Nintendo scoping its own text settings out of games. Motion is mostly the game’s job, and thin on consoles. Timing and difficulty are entirely the game’s job, because no platform holder offers either.

The tool below reads the same verified matrix as this article. Use it to check one game against one axis when you only have a single question.

Options desk

Check one game against one thing you need to change

Your console and the game itself control different settings, and only one of them can change difficulty or time pressure. Pick a game and a need to see what each layer documents.

Documented options at a glance

Four statuses appear in the table. In-game means the game documents the option itself. Partial means it documents something real but clearly bounded. Platform-only means the game documents nothing and only the console layer helps. Undocumented means no first-party source answers it either way.

GameRemapTextMotionTimingDifficulty
Pokémon PokopiaUndocumented — mouse controls are an input mode, not a remapPartial — language onlyIn-game — camera settings added in Ver. 2.0.0Partial — autosave referenced, real-time worldUndocumented
Animal Crossing: New HorizonsPlatform-only — system Button MappingPartial — language onlyUndocumentedIn-game, but a constraint: real-time clock, time-gated eventsUndocumented
PaliaIn-game — keyboard keybindings, controller hotkeysPartial — chat bubbles onlyPartial — two camera optionsUndocumentedPartial — one aim assist
Disney Dreamlight ValleyPartial — two named control-method togglesPartial — language and subtitles, no sizingIn-game — flash and screen-shake togglesPartial — timed inputs relaxed, not the worldUndocumented
FANTASY LIFE iPartial — bounded to “certain actions”Partial — language onlyPartial — camera framing, not reductionPartial — saving onlyPartial — one lock-on toggle
MinecraftIn-game — Key Binds and hold/toggle actionsIn-game — GUI scale, large UI, closed captionsIn-game — Damage Tilt, View Bobbing, Hide Sky FlashesPartial — input windows, plus Java single-player pauseIn-game — game modes
Stardew ValleyPartial — evidenced by changelog fixesPartial — UI scale and zoomUndocumentedPartial — autosave on mobile listingPartial — set when creating a world

Read the density of a row as density of documentation, nothing more. A publisher who writes a lot has written a lot; a blank cell is a page nobody published, not a verdict on the game and not a verdict on any player.

The platform layer, console by console

This is what you already own, whichever game you buy next.

Nintendo Switch and Switch 2

Remap is the strong axis here, and Nintendo is the one console holder that says in so many words that its mapping applies while you are playing a game — Sony and Microsoft document theirs without saying either way. System Settings > Accessibility > Button Mapping is set per controller, with up to five saved presets. Nintendo’s Button Mapping FAQ states that a configuration “will apply to nearly all scenarios on the console, including playing games,” naming button tests and stick and motion calibration as the exceptions. It is supported on Joy-Con 2 (L/R), the Switch 2 Pro Controller, Joy-Con (L/R), the Switch Pro Controller and Switch Lite. Configurations are saved on the console, not on the controller, so they stay behind when the pad moves.

Text is the opposite case, and it is the single most important platform fact in this guide. Switch 2 System Settings > Accessibility documents Text Size (standard, large, maximum), Bold Text, High Contrast, Zoom, Change Display Colors and Text to Speech. The accessibility guide then states verbatim: “Note: These settings are not reflected when playing a game.” They govern the HOME Menu and System Settings. On Nintendo hardware, console text size does not reach into the game, so for the two Nintendo-published titles the only text handling available is whatever the game built itself — and neither documents anything beyond the languages it ships in.

Motion is thin: Controller Vibration on or off under System Settings > Controllers & Accessories, and on Switch 2 the ability to activate or deactivate HD Rumble 2. Nothing else is documented.

PlayStation 5

Settings > Accessibility > Controllers > Custom Button Assignments covers the DualSense. It is documented, but Sony does not state whether the assignment reaches inside games — an absence worth noting rather than filling in.

Text is well covered for the console interface: Settings > Accessibility > Display and Sound documents Text Size, Bold Text, High Contrast, Invert Colors (which disables HDR) and a Color Filter with adjustable intensity. Motion has one entry, and its scope is written into the sentence: Reduce Motion, “Turn on to reduce motion effects and screen movement,” described for the console UI. Vibration Intensity sits alongside it.

Xbox Series X|S

Guide > Profile & system > Settings > Accessibility, plus the Xbox Accessories app and Controller Assist. Xbox does not state in so many words that a mapping applies to every game.

Text is the notable gap: Microsoft documents Narrator — “a screen reader that lets you hear audio descriptions for elements on the screen” — along with high contrast and a magnifier, but there is no system text-size setting. Motion is one line: Vibration, where “Vibration settings allow you to turn the controller vibration on or off.”

PC through Steam

Steam Input is the broadest remap on any platform here. Valve’s own Steamworks documentation describes building custom input mappings for any game in the library, which makes the PC version of a game the one place where a missing in-game rebinding menu matters least.

The rest is gated. Valve added an accessibility section to the settings menu accessible “when using Steam in Big Picture Mode or on devices running SteamOS” — conditional on both mode and device, and mostly client-only. Reduce Motion is written the same way: “The Reduce Motion setting lets you disable animations and page transitions,” in Big Picture Mode and on SteamOS, affecting the client interface.

One thing store pages do that is easy to over-read: Steam and Xbox surface accessibility tags that games declare about themselves. Surfacing a declaration is not providing the option, and a publisher-declared table is not a settings menu.

Mobile

iOS and iPadOS document Settings > General > Game Controller > [controller] > Default Controls, with “Tap Add App to create custom controls” for per-app layouts. Android documents OS-level controller remapping; the per-app scope above is documented for iOS only.

Mobile text is real but conditional on the app: iOS Settings > Accessibility > Display & Text Size offers Larger Text with Larger Accessibility Sizes and Bold Text, and it applies only where the app adopts it. Motion is the strongest platform-layer motion support of the five — iOS Settings > Accessibility > Motion documents Reduce Motion and Vehicle Motion Cues — but it remains an OS-level effect rather than something reaching into a game’s camera.

The two axes no platform covers at all

Timing: nothing, anywhere. No platform holder documents a system pause that stops a game clock, a slow or turn-based mode, an adjustable or extendable in-game timer, or any way to relieve in-game time pressure. Nintendo Sleep Mode and the HOME Button, and PlayStation Rest Mode, suspend the system or the software and are not documented as accessibility timing controls. Xbox’s Break Reminder is a wellbeing prompt that does not pause a game. iOS Touch Accommodations and the Android equivalents adjust input timing, which is a different thing and should never be read as game timing.

Difficulty: nothing, anywhere. No console or OS has a difficulty level, damage or combat toggle, assist mode, invincibility, peaceful mode or creative mode, and none can alter a game’s challenge.

So if you want time pressure relieved or the challenge changed, the game has to provide it. Whether a game has combat to adjust in the first place is a separate question, covered in the cozy games with no combat guide.

Pokémon Pokopia and Animal Crossing: New Horizons: two thin pages and a clock that never stops

Both are published by Nintendo, both document very little, and both inherit the same platform caveat from the section above: on Switch 2, the console’s text size, bold and contrast settings are not reflected while a game is running. Whatever text handling these two have is whatever they built themselves, and neither documents anything beyond the languages it ships in.

Pokémon Pokopia

Motion is the best-documented axis this game has, and it is new. Nintendo Support’s Ver. 2.0.0 update notes, dated 4 August 2026, state verbatim: “Added motion-sickness reduction settings for the camera.” That is the whole of the first-party record. What those settings adjust is not documented, and they did not exist in any earlier version, so anything written about the game before that update describes a different build.

Two things look like this and are not. The “Reduce Motion” toggle on pokopia.pokemon.com controls the marketing website’s animations — it is a web page setting, and it has no relationship to the game’s camera. And the epilepsy warning on the store page is Nintendo boilerplate shown on store pages generally, not a photosensitivity assessment of this title.

Remapping is undocumented at the game layer. No first-party page documents in-game rebinding or a controller-layout picker. What the game does document is an alternative input mode: Nintendo’s UK listing says “Craft items and furniture, then decorate your space however you want with convenient Joy-Con 2 mouse controls.” Ver. 2.0.0 also added “an option in Settings allowing movement while the move wheel is open,” which is an input-behavior toggle rather than rebinding. The Switch 2 system Button Mapping does apply in games — but that is the platform layer, and it would apply to any Switch 2 game you own.

Text is partial and means language only. The US store page lists Japanese, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Korean, Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese and American English. No first-party source documents text size, UI scale, font, subtitles or captions, or color and contrast.

Timing is partial and fragmentary. Autosave is referenced but never specified — the Ver. 1.1.0 notes read “You can now adjust game settings in the main menu while auto-saving is in progress,” which tells you autosave exists without telling you when it runs. The world is documented as real-time: “With a real-time day and night cycle, varying in-game weather, and other surprises…”, and sleeping is documented as a way to pass time, not to stop it. Nintendo’s “go at your own pace” line is marketing copy describing tone, not a setting you can switch on.

Difficulty is undocumented. Nothing on nintendo.com, Nintendo Support or pokopia.pokemon.com mentions difficulty levels, damage or combat toggles, a peaceful or creative mode, or assists. An ESRB rating is a content classification, not a difficulty setting — a common substitution and a wrong one.

Animal Crossing: New Horizons

Remapping is platform-only. Nintendo documents no in-game rebinding for this title, and the system Button Mapping applies “including playing games,” so the console is your only documented route.

Text is partial and again means language only: the US store page lists 14 languages, and no in-game text size, UI scale, font, subtitle or contrast option is documented anywhere. Motion is undocumented — no camera shake toggle, motion blur setting, gyro option, reduce-motion option or game-specific flashing notice appears in the store pages, the regional pages, the version update history or any support article. The Switch 2 Edition’s mouse controls and megaphone are input additions, not motion options.

Timing is the interesting row, and the polarity is the opposite of what an in-game status usually implies. What Nintendo documents is a constraint, not relief: “Animal Crossing: New Horizons follows the real-time date and time on the Nintendo Switch 2 or Nintendo Switch console.” The same page documents the time-gating that follows from it — “Some events, insects, and fish are limited to certain times of the day, at certain times of the year, and under specific conditions” — with holidays landing on set calendar days. The clock is a documented feature of the game, and no first-party page documents a way to pause, stop, slow or skip it.

Difficulty is undocumented at either layer, checked against the full version update history, the Happy Home Paradise and Ver. 2.0.0 FAQ, the Save Data and Multiplayer FAQ, and the US and UK product pages.

Minecraft: the only game here with its own accessibility articles

Two dedicated first-party articles exist, one for Java Edition and one covering the settings generally, and the difference in what can be said about this game is entirely a difference in what Mojang wrote down.

Remap is in-game. The Java article documents a Controls menu reached from Accessibility Settings, including “Key Binds: Allows you to customize which keys control in-game actions,” plus “Action Buttons: Select Hold … Select Toggle” for Sneak, Sprint, Attack/Destroy and Use Item/Place Block, an Auto-jump entry, and mouse options — Sensitivity, Touchscreen Mode, Scroll Sensitivity, Discrete Scrolling, Invert Mouse X/Y and Raw Input. Keyboard menu navigation is documented too: “Tab: The Tab key navigates you to the next menu item.”

Text is the most thoroughly documented row in this guide. Bedrock documents a “GUI Scale Modifier,” an “Extra large new UI: Toggle ON to increase the size of the UI for easy reading,” Closed Captions with placement and duration options, and text-to-speech, where “Text To Speech with Device Settings” means “Minecraft follows the accessibility preferences configured in your operating system.” Two boundaries matter: Java’s text sizing is chat-scoped — “Line Spacing: Adjust the spacing between lines of text in chat” — and Bedrock’s “Text Background Opacity” is scoped to the /text command.

Motion is in-game, and the editions are not interchangeable. Java’s Effects section documents “Damage Tilt: Adjusts the amount of camera shake caused by being hurt in the game,” “View Bobbing: Select OFF to remove the subtle bobbing motion whenever you walk or run,” and “Hide Sky Flashes: Set to ON to prevent lightning bolts or other environmental effects from making the sky flash,” plus Distortion Effects, FOV Effects, Darkness Pulsing and Panorama Scroll Speed. Now the trap: Bedrock’s “Camera Shake” entry describes turning shake ON. No camera-shake reduction option is documented for Bedrock. Java’s Damage Tilt is the reduction, and if that is the setting you came for, the edition you buy decides whether it exists.

Timing is partial, and it is mostly about input and reading windows: “Sprint Window: Controls how much time you have between key presses to trigger sprint,” “Chat Delay,” and the hold-versus-toggle Action Buttons. There is one real pause — “Esc - Opens the game menu and allows cursor control. It also pauses single-player games,” with “F3 + P - Toggle the auto-pause when the window loses focus” — and it is single-player Java only. Bedrock documents chat message and toast notification durations. Nothing documents relieving world time pressure on a server or a Realm.

Difficulty is in-game through game modes. “All Game Modes in Minecraft” documents Survival, Hardcore (“a one life mode”), Creative (“You can fly around and place unlimited blocks without the fear of health, hunger, or resources”), Adventure and Spectator. One boundary: the only first-party source located for difficulty levels — peaceful, easy, normal, hard — is the Realms Edit World menu and a server-setup article, so those levels are documented as Realms and server world options rather than as a general single-player settings menu.

Palia and FANTASY LIFE i: remapping that is real, and bounded

These two are the middle of the set: both document rebinding on their own pages, and both stop somewhere specific.

Palia

Remap is the most fully documented row outside Minecraft. Palia’s own launch guide documents a Keybindings menu for keyboard — “Check out the Keybindings menu to look up all of your keyboard shortcuts - or change them around, if that’s your thing!” — and a sprint input-style choice: “Choose between tap, toggle, and hold-to-sprint in your Settings menu to best suit your own playing style.” Controller rebinding arrived later, in patch 0.178: “Controller hotkeys can now be rebound!” Patch 0.194 adds a “Gameplay Wheels Toggle Open” setting.

Text is partial and narrower than it first reads, because it is scoped to chat. Patch 0.180 says “You can turn off/on Chat Bubbles in settings, as well as a number of other options such as text size and opacity.” That is the only in-game text sizing documented, and it applies to chat bubbles rather than the interface.

The trap here is a roadmap. Dev Update #7, dated 28 March 2024, listed brightness sliders, color-blind features and UI and text adjustments under a “What’s next?” heading. That is dated intent, not a shipped setting, and no first-party page documents any of it shipping since. A plan is not a feature, and a plan this old should not be read as a delivery.

Motion is partial, and both entries appear under explicit “Accessibility” headings in Palia’s own patch notes. Patch 0.173: “There is now a sensitivity slider for Hunting that controls the speed of the camera movements when aiming.” Patch 0.174 adds an option to turn on “Camera Assist” for controller, where “When moving left or right, the camera will slowly turn in the same direction” — opt-in, and documented for controller only.

Timing is undocumented. Nothing first-party documents a player-facing timing option: no pause, no save or autosave control, no slow or turn-based mode, no adjustable timer. Patch 0.168 permanently slowed the fishing cast and reel camera, citing “player feedback regarding accessibility,” but that is a one-time design change to the game, not a setting you can adjust.

Difficulty is partial and very thin — exactly one combat assist, listed under an “Accessibility” heading in patch 0.174: “There is now a slight aim assist that is enabled when hunting using a controller.” It is described as automatically enabled on controller, no toggle is documented, and no equivalent is stated for mouse and keyboard.

FANTASY LIFE i: The Girl Who Steals Time

Remap is partial, and the boundary is written into every sentence. Ver. 1.1.0 on Switch states “Added a menu to the Options that allows button remapping for certain actions,” and ver. 1.1.1 for PS5, PS4, Xbox and Steam, dated 19 May 2025, carries the identical sentence. Ver. 1.3.0 expands it: “Expanded the range of keys that can be assigned to certain commands. You can now further customize your control layout, such as by swapping the attack and dodge buttons.” Every statement is bounded to “certain actions” or “certain commands,” and no full rebinding list is published — so which actions are covered is a question the settings menu answers and the patch notes do not.

Text is partial and means language only: the product page lists nine languages, and the Steam store page’s publisher-declared table marks Subtitles for all nine. No text size, UI scale or contrast option is documented.

Motion is partial and is about camera framing rather than motion reduction. Ver. 1.3.3 adds “Camera Operation (Normal / Far)” to the Options screen; ver. 1.5.0 adds “Camera Control (Base Camp)” and renames the existing entry to “Camera Control (Past & Ginormosia)”; ver. 1.3.0 adds “Depth of Field (Post-Processing).” Two caveats: ver. 1.3.3 scopes its item under a heading reading “Only for Switch 2 / Switch,” and the official pages are inconsistent about the name, calling it Camera Operation in one place and Camera Control in another. Nothing is documented on motion reduction or photosensitivity.

Timing is partial and limited to saving. The FAQ states: “The game supports one save file only. When you save your game, your previous data will be overwritten. Additionally, the game includes an auto-save feature at certain key moments.” That is the entire record — one overwriting save slot, autosave bounded to “certain key moments” — and whether the game can be paused is not documented either way.

Difficulty is partial, and the negative is the useful half: no difficulty levels, selector, damage or combat toggles, peaceful mode or assist mode is documented at all. The single combat aid in the Options menu is targeting: ver. 1.3.0 “Added a setting in the Options menu to select automatic lock-on to the nearest enemy when drawing a weapon,” enabled via “Auto-Select Target.” One lock-on toggle is not a difficulty system, and reading it as one is how a “partial” cell gets over-read.

Disney Dreamlight Valley: flash and shake toggles, named and dated

Motion is the reason this row exists, and it is unusually specific. The 31 October 2022 hotfix notes on the developer’s own site state: “Added Seizure Warning during the game’s boot sequence”; “Added toggle in Settings menu to remove in-game flash effects,” naming storm lighting, white cloud flashes and the flash on catching a fish; and “Added toggle in Settings menu to remove in-game screen shake effects.” Two named toggles, dated, on the developer’s own page.

Gameloft separately writes that “those with motion sensitivities may prefer to switch to Selfie Mode.” That is Gameloft’s sentence about Gameloft’s game, quoted here rather than paraphrased, because paraphrasing it would turn their statement into ours. We record what they wrote; we do not extend it.

Remap is partial, and it is a pair of named single-purpose options rather than general rebinding. The Jungle Getaway notes, for the update live on 9 October 2024, state: “Added a toggle to the Settings > Controls menu to select between two different camera control methods when using a gamepad in Edit Mode” and “Added a toggle to the Settings > Controls menu to select between two different sprinting control methods.” No general button or key rebinding is documented by any first-party source.

Text is partial and covers language and subtitles with no sizing. Gameloft’s help center lists the supported languages, and the Steam store page for appid 1401590 lists Interface and Subtitles per language and carries the publisher-declared accessibility block, which declares Subtitles, Camera Comfort, Background Volume Controls and Stereo Sound. That block is a declaration on a store page, not a settings menu, and no player-adjustable text size, UI scale or color option is documented anywhere.

Timing is partial, and what it relaxes is timed input, not the world. The Dapper Delights notes of 19 August 2024 state “Added a toggle to the Settings menu that replaces fishing and timebending button presses with a ‘hold button’ prompt” and “Added a toggle to the cooking menu that turns off the ‘results’ screen and animation while cooking, speeding up the cooking process.” The help center names the first of those directly: “Please try enabling ‘Hold to Complete Fishing’ in the gameplay settings.” Nothing documents pausing or slowing the world itself.

Difficulty is undocumented. The help center has no Accessibility section, and searches for difficulty, combat, damage, peaceful, easy mode and assist return nothing.

Stardew Valley: UI scale, and the options set before the farm exists

Text is the substantive row, and outside Minecraft it is the most documented one here. The 1.5 changelog documents that “you can now scale the UI independently of the view zoom” and that the maximum zoom was “increased … from 120% to 200%.” The 1.6 changelog adds that “‘Menu background’ is now a drop down option, which includes ‘Standard’, ‘Graphical’, or ‘None’.” No subtitle, caption or contrast option is documented.

Remap is partial, and the evidence is unusual: no first-party page publishes a controls menu, but ConcernedApe’s own 1.4 changelog describes key rebinding inside the options screen while fixing it — “Fixed issue where rebinding keys would cause the game to display a blank options screen instead of properly prompting the player to press a key.” The 1.5 changelog documents one control-scheme toggle, noting that the older slingshot aiming mode “can be re-enabled in the options menu if desired,” and on mobile the developer’s App Store description documents “multiple controls options, such as touch-screen and virtual joystick.” A bug fix that mentions a feature is weaker evidence than a page that describes one, and no rebinding list is published.

Motion is undocumented. The full 1.4, 1.5 and 1.6 changelogs, the 1.5.1 and 1.6.15.1 patch notes, the FAQ and the troubleshooting guide contain no camera shake, screen shake, motion blur, gyro or motion controls, and no flashing or photosensitivity line. The trap sits on the storefront: the Apple App Store page states that “The developer has not yet indicated which accessibility features” the app supports, which is an absence of declaration, not a declaration of absence — Apple is reporting that a form was left blank.

Timing is partial and survives only in fragments. The developer’s iOS App Store description documents autosave — “Continue farming from where you last left off with auto-save (even if you close the app!)” — and the 1.5.1 patch notes confirm, incidentally, that a pause state exists at least in multiplayer: “Fixed an exploit where you could regain stamina in bed in multiplayer, even if the game was paused.” The autosave wording appears on the mobile listing only, no first-party source documents save behavior on PC or console, and no page addresses the day clock as a setting.

Difficulty is partial, and the boundary is timing rather than content. The 1.5 changelog documents that ConcernedApe “Added Advanced Game Options, which can be used to customize a new game,” listing among them “Can toggle monsters spawning” along with profit margins and cabin options. These are documented as choices made when creating a new game, and no first-party source says they can be changed afterwards — so this is decided at the save file’s birth, before you have played enough to know what you want.

How to check a game yourself before you buy

Documentation is a proxy for the settings menu, and this whole guide is an argument for treating it as one. Six steps, in order:

  1. Name the axis first, then pick the layer. Write down what you actually want changed. If it is timing or difficulty, stop reading console settings pages — nothing there will help, and only the game can provide either.
  2. Go to the developer’s or publisher’s own site, not a wiki. Patch notes are the highest-yield page in this exercise, because several of these games document real options in version notes rather than on a settings page. The picture is mixed, though: Minecraft has dedicated accessibility articles, and the Nintendo titles rely on store and support pages instead. Search those notes for “Accessibility,” “Options,” “Settings,” “camera,” “remap” and “text size.”
  3. Read store-page blocks for exactly what they are. A publisher-declared accessibility table on Steam is a declaration. An ESRB rating is a content classification. A Nintendo epilepsy warning is boilerplate that appears on store pages generally. None of the three is a settings menu.
  4. Check the version, and check the date. Pokopia’s camera settings did not exist before Ver. 2.0.0 on 4 August 2026, so a video from before that update is describing a different build. FANTASY LIFE i gained remapping in ver. 1.1.0 and expanded it in 1.3.0.
  5. Treat “what’s next” lists as intent, never as delivery. Palia’s Dev Update #7 named brightness sliders and UI and text adjustments in March 2024; nothing first-party documents them shipping.
  6. Confirm in the menu on your own device, inside the refund window. Open Settings before you open the tutorial. The menu is the fact; everything above is a way of guessing what the menu contains.

One last practical note, and it is the Nintendo one from earlier: Button Mapping configurations are saved on the console rather than on the controller, so they stay behind when the pad moves. What a save does carry when it moves is its own subject — see the cozy games save transfer and cross-save guide. If you are setting a game up on a shared or child profile, the cozy games parent guide covers the console-side setup pass.

FAQ

Do my console’s accessibility settings apply inside the game?

It depends entirely on the setting, and Nintendo answers it both ways. Nintendo’s Button Mapping FAQ says a configuration will apply to nearly all scenarios on the console, including playing games. The Switch 2 accessibility guide says the opposite about text: “Note: These settings are not reflected when playing a game.” Sony and Microsoft document their remapping without stating whether it reaches inside games, and PlayStation’s Reduce Motion is written for the console UI.

Can I change difficulty or slow down a game clock from console settings?

No. No console or OS documents a system pause that stops a game clock, a slow mode, an adjustable timer, a difficulty level, a damage toggle or an assist. Sleep Mode and Rest Mode suspend the system, and Xbox’s Break Reminder is a wellbeing prompt that does not pause anything. Steam and Xbox surface accessibility tags that games declare, but surfacing a declaration is not providing the option.

Which of these seven games documents the most settings?

Minecraft, by a wide margin, and this is a statement about its documentation rather than about the game. It is the only title here with dedicated first-party accessibility articles, and it documents its own options on remapping, text, motion and game modes, with timing partly covered. The other six publish theirs mostly in scattered version notes and store pages.

Does Pokémon Pokopia have a camera or motion option?

Yes, since Ver. 2.0.0. Nintendo Support’s update notes dated 4 August 2026 state verbatim: “Added motion-sickness reduction settings for the camera.” What those settings adjust is not documented, and they did not exist in earlier versions. The Reduce Motion toggle on pokopia.pokemon.com is a different thing entirely: it controls the marketing website’s own animations, not the game.

Can I rebind buttons in Animal Crossing: New Horizons?

Not in the game. Nintendo documents no in-game rebinding for this title, so the console is the only documented route: System Settings, Accessibility, Button Mapping, set per controller with up to five saved presets. The configurations are stored on the console rather than on the controller, so they do not follow the pad to another system.

What does undocumented mean in the comparison table?

It means no first-party page answers the question either way. It is not a documented no. A developer who never published a page about camera shake has not told you the option is missing, only that nobody wrote it down. Treat it as a prompt to open the settings menu yourself on your own device, inside the refund window.

Sources

All pages were checked on 2026-08-26. Settings menus change with every update, and several of these games document their options only in patch notes, so verify in the game’s own menu on your own device before you rely on any row above.